Sunday 11 June 2006
Sponsored since 1997 by the
Walcot Educational Foundation

The tenth tournament was our biggest ever with 25 schools and 250 children taking part on 6 pitches and with an awards ceremony in the middle of the day. To celebrate 10 years of primary schools football the league thought it appropriate to mark the occasion with presentations made by individuals from various organisations with which the League works.

Foremost amongst these was Shirley Hase a governor and trustee of the Walcot Educational Foundation which has been our main financial supporter from the first tournament in 1997. Shirley kindly agreed to present commemorative polo shirts to various individuals who have given up their time for children at their schools to enable them to play football in our competitions. All of these individuals have supported the League for many years, some since our first tournament and they continue to give freely of their time. In alphabetical order these are:

Darren Annon, Macaulay school
Abebi Ayanna, Sunnyhill school
Worrell Gayle, Glenbrook school
Dave Golding, Hitherfield and Kings Acre schools
Matthew Griffin, St Mary's school,
Dave Hooper, Holy Trinity school
Michael Kelleher, Corpus Christi school
Neil Kelly, Crown Lane school
Eddie Morgan, Abbeville school
Mark Parsons, Oliver Goldsmith and Elm Wood schools
Peter Poulastides, Elm Wood school
Bob Wade, Streatham Wells school
John Wentworth, Corpus Christi school.

The Director of Education at Lambeth Council Phyllis Dunipace presented the Fair Play Awards which were decided by the schools themselves to:

St Mary's, St Jude's, Macaulay and St Joseph's.

The 2005/06 season league divisional winners and runners up were presented with school shields and medals for the players by the Mayor of Lambeth Cllr. Liz Atkinson as follows:

Red Division winners St Mary's, runners up St Bernadette's
Green Division winners St Stephen's, runners up St Jude's
The Blue division awards could not be made as the top two places were at the time still to be finalised but subesquently Corpus Christi finished 1st with Sunnyhill 2nd.

Referee Awards were made to young, newly qualified referees who were all former players with primary schools and who undertook training organised by the League and given by the Amateur Football Alliance (AFA). The following were presented with referees whistles by John Wilson the Chair of the AFA:

William Bedingfield, Charlie Cornforth, Felix Turnbull-Walter, Joseph Wentworth.

In addition to the local dignitaries presenting the awards the League also invited a number of ex-players to assist at the ceremony. These were:

Jack Walsh, ex Rosendale school, now at Pimlico school,
1999 tournament,
Alex Chambers, ex Jessop school, now at Charter school,
2001 tournament,
Mischa Clarke, ex Sudbourne school, now at Dunraven school,
2002 tournament,
Anton Baskerville, ex Sudbourne school, now at Alleyns school,
2000 tournament.


The competitions on the day took place in very hot conditions and resulted in success for the following schools:

The tournament's primary trophy the Walcot Cup went to St Stephen's of Vauxhall who beat St Jude's of Herne Hill 2 -0 in a hard fought and tense final which went to extra time.

The Shield competition was won by Victory school of Elephant and Castle in their first tournament beating Streatham Wells of West Norwood 2-1 in the final.

The Plate was won by Sunnyhill of Streatham who beat Corpus Christi of Brixton 1-0 in their final.

Plyers from all schools received their commemorative T shirts as always which we hope will help them to remember the day fondly. As usual all players and supporters had a great day and behaved in an examplary fashion as ambassadors for their schools and communities.

The tournament was the result of months of hard work from the volunteer organisers and special thanks must go to (in no particular order); Sybella Walter, Neil Athur, Arthur Williams, Heather Baskerville, Duncan Green, Graham Lane, Garry Turnbull, Marilyn Rogers, Debbie Postgate, Polly Cook, Sally Cornforth, David Bedingfield, Chris Van Duuren, Francis Graves and Cate Mason without whose efforts there would be no tournament.

Other pages:

This is the text-only version of this page. Click here to see this page with graphics.
Edit this page | Manage website
Make Your Own Website: 2-Minute-Website.com